Periodontitis

Gum disease (also called periodontal disease) is the second most frequent oral health problem noted in adults and the elderly. Gum disease is an inflammation of the gums caused by the accumulation of dental plaque and tartar. Plaque is a clear bacterial film that sticks to the teeth and is produced by a combination of bacteria, saliva and food debris. The largest concentration of plaque is found between the teeth and at the edge of the gums. With time, plaque becomes tartar, a hard, granular substance that has to be removed regularly.

 

The two main signs of early gum disease, also called gingivitis, are bleeding of the gums when brushing, and bad breath. Gums may also be red, swollen, and sensitive to the touch. If gingivitis is left untreated, it may develop into periodontitis. At this stage, the bone that supports the teeth begins to deteriorate. If the condition remains untreated, the affected teeth become loose and must be removed.


Periodontal disease is the main cause of tooth loss in adults. Almost 75% of adults suffer from gum disease in varying degrees throughout their life. Denture wearers are not immune from gum disease. Brushing teeth or dentures, daily flossing, and regular visits to the dentist are the best way to prevent gum disease.


Other factors may contribute to periodontal disease, such as:

  • Conditions that affect the immune system such as thyroid malfunction, diabetes, pregnancy and leukemia;
  • Hereditary predisposition;
  • Personal habits such as poor nutrition, nail biting, grinding or clenching teeth, tobacco use, and too much sugar;
  • Medications such as birth control pills, and drug abuse.

 

Diagnosis and Treatment

 

 The dentist can diagnose and treat periodontal disease in its early stages. If the disease is at an intermediate or advanced stage, the dentist may refer the patient to a periodontist, a specialist who treats periodontal disease.


The goal of periodontal treatment is to restore gum health. Periodontal treatment usually involves removing plaque and tartar from the teeth, root planing or smoothing the roots of the teeth once the debris has been removed, and scaling the teeth and swollen gum tissues. Serious cases may require surgery to remove the tartar lodged in the pockets between the gums and teeth.


Periodontal Disease Brochure..........

 

Bad breath, or halitosis, affects approximately 65% of the population, causing personal and social discomfort. In most cases it is a temporary condition. For instance, morning breath is caused by decreased saliva flow during sleep, combined with reduced movement of the tongue and cheeks. Fresh breath is restored after a wholesome, well-balanced breakfast is eaten, and the teeth and tongue are brushed.
Bad breath results from the action of anaerobic bacteria, which can live without oxygen and cause the protein in food particles and other matter to decompose. This process generates foul-smelling gases that mingle with your breath.
The main causes of bad breath are:

  • Gum disease and inflammation
  • Poor oral hygiene
  • Cavities and faulty restorations
  • Food particles between the teeth
  • Infections
  • Mouth breathing
  • Smoking
  • Decreased saliva flow
  • Accumulation of bacteria and food debris on the tongue

If bad breath continues despite good oral hygiene and there is no sign of infection, the following causes should be considered:

  • Tobacco and alcohol
  • Foods such as garlic, onions, pastrami, etc.Certain medications or supplements
  • Food residue that may accumulate around the throat or tonsils

 

The following illnesses can also cause bad breath:

  • Diabetes
  • Kidney or liver problems
  • Some respiratory diseases or infections of the lungs, sinuses, larynx or nose
  • Gastro-intestinal disturbances, such as acid reflux

In these cases, the patient should be referred to a specialist for diagnosis and appropriate treatment.

 

Mouthwashes

 

Mouthwashes temporarily mask breath odour. However, too frequent use of mouthwash can irritate the mucous membranes in the mouth and increase bad breath. A dentist or dental hygienist can recommend the best mouthwashes with scientifically proven antibacterial properties.

 

Halimeter

A halimeter is a machine that gives an instantaneous and objective reading of breath odour. It is used when the cause of bad breath is difficult to pinpoint.

The best way to prevent the unpleasant effects of bad breath is to consistently practice good oral hygiene and visit the dentist regularly. If bad breath persists, consult your dentist.

PréVENTION

Outre la carie, les maladies des gencives ou maladies parodontales

 

constituent le principal problème buccodentaire des adultes et des personnes âgées. Il s'agit d'une inflammation des gencives causée par l'accumulation de plaque dentaire et de tartre. La plaque dentaire est un film bactérien invisible et collant qui s'accumule sur les dents. Elle est produite par une combinaison de diverses bactéries, de morceaux d'aliments et de salive. La plus grande concentration de plaque se retrouve entre les dents et sous le bord des gencives. Avec le temps, la plaque se transforme en tartre, une substance granuleuse et dure qui doit être enlevée régulièrement.


Les deux principaux signes du début de la maladie parodontale, ou gingivite, sont un saignement des gencives lors du brossage et une mauvaise haleine. Les gencives peuvent aussi être rouges, enflées et sensibles au toucher. Une gingivite non traitée peut se transformer en parodontite. À cette étape, l'os qui soutient les dents commence à se détériorer. Sans traitement, les dents deviennent mobiles et devront être extraites.


Les maladies parodontales sont la cause principale de la perte des dents chez les adultes. Près de 75 % des adultes souffrent de problèmes des gencives à divers degrés au cours de leur vie. Les personnes qui portent des prothèses ne sont pas à l'abri de telles maladies. Le brossage des dents ou des prothèses, l'utilisation quotidienne de la soie dentaire et des visites régulières chez le dentiste demeurent les meilleurs moyens de prévenir ces maladies.

 

D'autres facteurs peuvent aussi contribuer à l'apparition des maladies parodontales, notamment :

  • Des conditions qui affectent le système immunitaire telles qu'un mauvais fonctionnement de la glande thyroïde, le diabète, la grossesse, la leucémie ;

  • Des facteurs héréditaires ;

  • De mauvaises habitudes, notamment se nourrir mal, se ronger les ongles, serrer ou grincer les dents, faire usage de tabac, consommer trop de sucre ;
  • La prise de certains médicaments, incluant les anovulants, et de drogues.

 

Diagnostic et traitement :

 

Le dentiste peut diagnostiquer et traiter les maladies parodontales dès leur début. Il orientera les cas intermédiaires et avancés vers des parodontistes au besoin, qui sont des spécialistes du traitement des maladies parodontales.


Le traitement parodontal vise à rétablir la santé des gencives. Il nécessite habituellement un détartrage, soit un enlèvement de la plaque et du tartre accumulés sur les dents, un aplanissement des racines, une technique visant à rendre lisse la racine des dents après que les débris aient été enlevés, et un curetage ou grattage de la plaque et des tissus enflammés des gencives. Dans les cas graves, il peut être nécessaire de pratiquer des interventions chirurgicales pour enlever le tartre logé dans des poches qui se sont formées entre les gencives et les dents.


En Savoir plus...........

 

La mauvaise haleine

La mauvaise haleine ou halitose ,affecte environ 65 % de la population. Elle cause des malaises personnels et sociaux aux personnes atteintes. Dans la majorité des cas, cette condition est passagère, par exemple la mauvaise haleine du matin. Cette dernière est causée par une diminution de la production de salive durant le sommeil, combinée à une activité réduite des mouvements de la langue et des joues. Prendre un bon déjeuner équilibré et se brosser les dents et la langue permet de retrouver une haleine fraîche.

 

La mauvaise haleine résulte de l'action de bactéries anaérobies (pouvant vivre en absence d'oxygène) qui causent la décomposition, entre autres, des protéines contenues dans les débris alimentaires. Ce processus génère des gaz malodorants qui se mélangent à l'haleine.


Les principales causes de la mauvaise haleine sont :

  • Inflammation et maladies des gencives.

  • Une hygiène buccale déficiente.

  • La présence de caries et de restaurations défectueuses.

  • La rétention de particules alimentaires entre les dents.

  • Les foyers d'infection.

  • La respiration par la bouche.

  • Le tabagisme.

  • La diminution du débit salivaire.

  • L'accumulation de bactéries et de débris alimentaires sur la langue.

 

Si la mauvaise haleine persiste chez un patient qui a une hygiène buccale adéquate et ne présente pas de foyer d'infection, il faut penser aux causes suivantes :

  • Le tabac et l'alcool.

  • Certains aliments tels l'ail, l'oignon, le pastrami, etc.

  • Certains médicaments et suppléments.

  • Les résidus alimentaires qui s'accumulent au niveau de l'œsophage ou dans la région des amygdales.

 

Les maladies suivantes peuvent aussi causer la mauvaise haleine :

  • Le diabète.

  • Des problèmes rénaux et hépatiques.

  • Certaines maladies respiratoires et infections des poumons, des sinus, du larynx ou du nez.

  • Des désordres du tractus gastro-intestinal, par exemple le reflux gastro-œsophagien.

  • Dans ces cas, le patient doit être dirigé vers un médecin spécialiste qui fera un diagnostic et prescrira les modalités thérapeutiques appropriées.

 

Le rince-bouche

 

L'utilisation de rince-bouche masque temporairement la mauvaise haleine. Par contre, une utilisation excessive peut aussi irriter les muqueuses de la bouche et accentuer le problème de mauvaise haleine. Le dentiste et l'hygiéniste dentaire pourront vous recommander ceux qui ont de meilleures propriétés antimicrobiennes et dont l'efficacité est reconnue scientifiquement.

 

La meilleure façon de prévenir les désagréments dus à la mauvaise haleine est de maintenir une bonne hygiène buccodentaire et de visiter le dentiste régulièrement. Si la mauvaise haleine persiste, consultez un dentiste.