Sterilization

Infection Control:

Because many people visit the dentist's office, dentists and dental staff should apply stringent infection control measures to reduce the risk of contagion, contamination and the spread of infection. The following universal precautions are used to prevent the transmission of infection in a dental practice:

Physical Barriers:

  • Gloves serve as a barrier between the saliva, blood and mucosa of a patient and the dentist's hands. They are changed between patients and each time that a dentist leaves the room.

  • A mask protects the dentist against aerosols produced while working in the mouth. Aerosols are fine water droplets that are suspended in the air and may contain microbes. It also protects the patient against an infection that can be transmitted through the airways.

  • Glasses are used to protect the dentist's eyes from being scratched by a projectile or injured or contaminated by an infectious agent splashing in the eye.

  • A uniform prevents the contamination of a dentist's clothes and the spread of germs outside of the working environment.

 

Infection control procedures

  • Hand washing must be done with soap before and after wearing gloves, between each patient and/or after changing rooms.

  • Sterilization destroys all micro-organisms on instruments used in the mouth. Any questions regarding sterilization should be asked without reservation, because the dentist can show how he ensures that all instruments are properly sterilized (safety seal on disposable needles, colour-change indicators on instrument packages that change colour after the sterilization process, etc.)

  • Disinfection: Working surfaces must be cleaned and disinfected between each patient in order to destroy pathogenic micro-organisms.

  • The use of disposable material is necessary because certain instruments or materials cannot be sterilized, washed or re-used (e.g. gloves, needles, cotton rolls, etc.).

  • Good work methods minimize the risk of accidents or contamination, which is why the dental team uses sound biological safety measures.

 

The Ordre des dentistes du Québec notifies all members of desinfection and sterilization standards. These standards set out general hygiene measures, personal protection measures, instrument sterilization methods, disinfection measures for work surfaces and laboratories, sterilization and appropriate disposal of biomedical waste, vaccination of treating staff, and the procedures to follow in case of accidental contamination or exposure to biological materials.

The Ordre ascertains adherence to these safety measures by conducting professional inspections of dental offices. In fact, Québec is the only province that has an annual program of mandatory inspection of dental offices.

StériliSation

Prévention des infections

À cause du grand nombre de patients qui fréquentent le cabinet dentaire, le dentiste et le personnel doivent appliquer des mesures rigoureuses de prévention des infections. Ces mesures diminuent les risques de contagion, de contamination et d'infection d'une personne à une autre. Les mesures de précaution universelles suivantes permettent d'éviter la transmission des infections dans les cabinets dentaires :


Les barrières physiques


  • Les gants servent de barrière entre la salive, le sang, les muqueuses du patient et les mains du dentiste. Ils sont jetés entre chaque patient ou à chaque fois que le dentiste sort de la salle de travail.

  • Le masque protège le dentiste contre les aérosols produits lorsqu'il travaille dans la bouche du patient. Ces aérosols sont de fines gouttelettes d'eau en suspension dans l'air qui peuvent contenir des microbes. Le masque sert aussi à protéger le patient de toute infection transmissible par les voies aériennes (grippe, etc.).

  • Les lunettes protègent les yeux du dentiste d'éventuelles égratignures, de blessures ou d'éclaboussures contaminées pouvant infecter l'œil

  • La blouse prévient la contamination des vêtements du dentiste et lui évite de transporter des microbes à l'extérieur du lieu de travail.

 

Comportements en matière de prévention des infections

  • Le lavage des mains doit être effectué avec du savon avant et après le port des gants, entre chaque patient et lorsque le dentiste change de salle de travail.


  • La stérilisation est un procédé qui détruit les micro-organismes. Tous les instruments qui entrent en contact avec la bouche des patients sont stérilisés après chaque utilisation. Il ne faut pas hésiter à poser des questions au dentiste à ce sujet. Il pourra vous expliquer comment il s'assure que les instruments sont bien stériles (sceau de sécurité des aiguilles jetables, papier indicateur sur l'emballage des instruments qui change de teinte après la stérilisation, etc.).

        

 

  • La désinfection des surfaces de travail est faite entre chaque patient. Elle permet de détruire les micro-organismes pathogènes.


  • L'utilisation de matériel jetable est nécessaire, car certains instruments ou matériels ne peuvent être ni stérilisés, ni lavés, ni réutilisés, par exemple les gants, les aiguilles, les rouleaux de coton, etc.


  • Une bonne méthode de travail minimise les risques d'accidents ou de contamination. C'est pourquoi l'équipe dentaire adopte des techniques favorisant la bio-sécurité.

 

Ces normes précisent les mesures d'hygiène générale, les mesures de protection personnelle, les méthodes de stérilisation des instruments, de désinfection des surfaces de travail et du laboratoire, la stérilisation, la mise au rebut appropriée des déchets biomédicaux, la vaccination du personnel traitant et les mesures à prendre en cas de contamination accidentelle ou d'exposition à du matériel biologique.


De plus, l'Ordre des dentistes vérifie si ces mesures sont bien suivies lors des visites d'inspection professionnelle des cabinets dentaires. Le Québec est d'ailleurs la seule province qui a un programme annuel de visites obligatoires des cabinets dentaires.

 

Les cliniques dentaires sont des lieux sécuritaires grâce au professionnalisme du dentiste et de son équipe qui appliquent rigoureusement les mesures de prévention des infections.